Book: Reflection on the Important Things

Get Your Premium Membership

Poetry Forum

home recent topics recent posts search faq

smarty - all messages by user

2/26/2016 9:49:32 PM
Poems. Some happy,some sad, some to make you glad. Hello lady and gentlemen poets. I never really was poetic, nor a great writer, many say I still am not. I will admit I am not a good proof reader, as do notice the odd, few (Fingers crossed) mistakes, my natural speaking assistant Dragon and I, occasionally pass on to the publishers. Writing has become a way of life with me now. I have numerous scraps of paper, with mainly poems about some news item, as a lot of my poems are based on daily happenings. It was not until I had written for my own sanity about my hospital trips, I saw a poetic flow and joined all of you aspiring poets. Writing is one thing, publishing vastly different. I sent manuscripts to agents as publishers here in the UK require, many came back unopened with note saying the agent was not taking on any new writers. So what hope was there for us new ones? Unless you are a millionaire already and not many of us, me included, can afford going directly to a publisher, or can you? I found my way into the complicated web of the internet. It still is complicated to me as I blunder from one site to the other. However I found a publishing site called, 'feedaread,' which offered FREE advice on how to set up a book on line. I took a month passing my first book 'A patient from Papworth,' back and forth so many times, you would not believe it. I altered this word and that sentence. Then made a plain cover, although since found how to get a photo on the cover, or indeed use a FREE template. I love that FREE word as am an old person reliant on me pension. Anyway the book was finally published and i had not spent a penny. Pounds on paper and ink cartridges mind. I did pay a reduced amount for my Authors copy, received in the post, very quickly and wow, my first book in print. I was elated