Book: Reflection on the Important Things

Get Your Premium Membership

Poetry Forum

home recent topics recent posts search faq

Stephen Wilson-Flo - all messages by user

11/13/2017 2:39:20 PM
Hello, Stephen Wilson-Flo I'm a retired teacher of 30 years. Now I am retired, I have time to write and read poetry. My favorite poets are Robert Frost and Dylan Thomas so there is a range there. I have about 60 poems I have posted on another site with some good results. I try to write about new topics (or at least old topics approached in a new way) leaving love and religious poems to others more talented in that area than I. Lately, I am drawn to so called "abstract poetry". I look forward to submitting and critiquing poems and hope to become a member.
11/18/2017 5:11:48 PM
How is this? I would fix the typo "angles" to "angels". I like the last part best as it is an image with great sound. The previous is a bit too much telling and not enough showing for me. Let the reader take the journey.
I would try starting the poem with the ending and continue images.
11/20/2017 4:43:14 PM
Snake 101 I like the subject, I like the honest unpretentious tone, I like the theme. I believe, the poem would be strengthened by showing more, telling less. I would try capturing the revulsion toward the snake with words, but not in a heavy handed way. You could break out the G of E and Cleo story. I am into abstract poems now and would try putting similar sounds together (not just s-s-s- though) and let go of the literal meaning a bit. I like "ophidiophobia" and "goose bumps on human flesh" and "scrunch up" (not a real word, but I've used it too) and "scaly info to psyche/rubbery" and other phrases. Adjectives, I believe, are not the friends of poets. "Disgusting" as a word is weak, images are so much better. Again adjectives often tell and do not show. All in all, this is pretty good and I wish you well.
11/20/2017 4:55:39 PM