Book: Reflection on the Important Things

Get Your Premium Membership

Poetry Forum

home recent topics recent posts search faq

Forum Home » Be Gentle » Burdened No More

Post here if you're new to receiving a critique and you want "gentle" feedback on your poem. Constructive criticism only. PLEASE Only Post One Poem a Day!!!
9/8/2019 8:37:41 PM

Jovarius Burton
Hello,
I'm new to writing and hopefully I can get some feedback to help get better. I suffer with PTSD and found that writing had helped clear my mind.

The day was filled with a sense of sorrow and regret,
Confused by the daily tasks that outweighed my decisions.
I pushed forward to an event I would never forget,
An event that would haunt me for years and out of my control.
The smell of the dry desert and sounds of heavy vehicles as they prepared for the mission,
Exposing a country to centuries old traditions to modern warfare,
My feelings no longer exist.
The start of the march, anticipation and fear of the unknown,
Expect the unexpected and prepare for the next order.
How exciting that must sound, yet anxiety has more control,
A normal patrol as we all expect becomes the unexpected.
We have now made the usual approach and greeted by our daily hosts,
Only this day the hosts became the unexpected.
Greeted with the usual innocence of cheers and laughter and gifts of chocolate,
My foreign children brightened the day.
Behind the joyous laughter hid pain,
Pain that latches on like a parasite.
Engulfed with so much hate and anger it shows itself,
Innocence cut with hate, pain, and anger from a single blade,
The cut was fast and unexpected.
My feelings returned instantly but numb to the situation,
How do I respond? What just happened? Am I dreaming?
My foreign child is gone!
From hate, innocence was destroyed,
And the mission, yes, the mission remained first priority.
Years of struggling, holding myself accountable for HATE and PAIN actions,
Was it my fault? Why did I allow it to happen?