Book: Reflection on the Important Things

Get Your Premium Membership

Poetry Forum

home recent topics recent posts search faq

Forum Home » Be Gentle » Missing You

Post here if you're new to receiving a critique and you want "gentle" feedback on your poem. Constructive criticism only. PLEASE Only Post One Poem a Day!!!
8/22/2017 8:56:14 AM

Heath Barker
I'm fairly new at writing poetry. I wrote this during the first month after my wife passed away. Or atleast the rough out line of it in my journal that I call the bone yard. I had a friend asked me after reading some of my current stuff if I had any from the beginning. I really didn't but I usually write from the bone yard which is just a place to empty my current feelings on paper. My poetry is a form of therapy for me. I would appreciate your feed back.

Evolving, ever changing, my life becomes my own,
the we, is now just me, and I am so alone.
We were just getting to the good parts,
why did it have to take my heart?
As I meander on this path of grief,
there are days, that lack clear relief.
Those days I focus within, instead of without,
I will prevail for that there is no doubt.

The days that I ponder you and read your words,
It’s almost like you can be heard.
The zing of your witty remarks,
Or the times walking in the park.
Your favorite flower was a rose,
I used to buy you many of those.
Just to see the smile they would bear,
Now I just wish that you were here.

Heath Barker 8/22/2017
edited by Merxion on 8/22/2017
permalink • reply with quote
8/22/2017 1:52:34 PM

Dean Wood