Book: Shattered Sighs

Get Your Premium Membership

Poetry Forum

home recent topics recent posts search faq

Forum Home » Be Gentle » My First Couplet

Post here if you're new to receiving a critique and you want "gentle" feedback on your poem. Constructive criticism only. PLEASE Only Post One Poem a Day!!!
12/9/2016 10:41:55 PM

Ady Ferrer
I'm a relatively new writer and a new member of Poetry Soup, (loving it so far!). I usually write in free verse and a few haikus here and there. I want to experiment on other styles and forms of writing, so please let me know if I've made a mistake in any way and what you think in general. Thank you!

Missing Piece

A hundred puzzle pieces scattered on the floor.
All is in place, except for one more.

I didn’t realize one was missing.
And it seems there’s no chance of it resurfacing.

I’ve looked everywhere.
I couldn’t find it anywhere.

It’s hard to look for something unknown.
All on my own.

With only a picture of what could be.
If only I could find the missing puzzle piece.
edited by GracefulAngel on 12/9/2016
permalink • reply with quote
12/11/2016 12:42:10 AM

Doug Vinson
Hi Ady,

I have a lot of comments. Maybe too many for "gentle" criticism, but I mean no offense.

My opinion: put a comma in the first line, after "pieces."

I think it reads better that way, especially since you have a comma in the second line.

"A hundred puzzle pieces, scattered on the floor." 7/5 syllables. Has a nice rhythm to it.

"All is in place, except for one more." 4/5 syllables.

That can read pretty well, but I think it would be better with 5/5 or even more then 5 before the comma.

Perhaps "All is now in place, except for one more." 5/5

Or, "I set them all in place, except for one more." 6/5

Or, "I positioned them in place, except for one more." 7/5