Book: Reflection on the Important Things

Get Your Premium Membership

Poetry Forum

home recent topics recent posts search faq

Aley - all messages by user

3/29/2016 12:17:50 AM
Newbie Hi everyone,

I'm new to PoetrySoup, but not new to poetry. I've been on YoungWritersSociety for a long time writing and reviewing poetry there so I'm hoping to find more people who are like minded and like reviews, because I like giving them. I hope that people here will be able to help improve my poetry beyond what YWS could do.
4/27/2016 9:12:24 AM
Problems with poem's final stanza, ending. Hey BigTone066,

So I can see why you're having a problem with the last stanza of this poem. It's not a different tone of voice, it's just different content. What you do well in the poem is keeping the same syncopation and following through with that all the way to the end. Despite adding, taking away, adding stanzas, I can't really see that while reading the poem. That means you're good at editing your poetry too.

As for the challenge of the stanza, try taking it out of a questioning tone for the last line. In general practice it's my opinion that if you want people to question you, then give them a declarative sentence and let them come back saying "No! You're not right, what about --" and I think that'll give you the reaction you're looking for without feeding them a question themselves.

I think there might be some other things you could work on in this poem too though, and I think if you worked on those things you might find a better way to end it, so I'm going to include them in the review.