Book: Reflection on the Important Things

Get Your Premium Membership

Poetry Forum

home recent topics recent posts search faq

WarriorPoet - all messages by user

4/12/2014 1:25:05 AM
Salutations! Hello. My name is Mark. I'm a retired Army NCO working in Monterey CA. I live in Marina CA and volunteer as a Scoutmaster there. I've been writing poetry and lyrics since about 1984, though never published. Am working on recording some songs now. Besides composing songs, I also sing and learned to play piano, concert flute, keyboards, acoustic guitar, fife, electric guitar, bass guitar, and my church organ on Sundays. I've studied intensely French, Spanish, Russian, Serbian, and Croatian; know some German too, though I rarely use any of them except French now (my wife is French). I love to read, especially Science Fiction novels.
4/12/2014 1:28:11 AM
featured poems I'm in the same boat. Several people said my lyric "Tropical Getaway" was featured last week, but I haven't figured out how/where.
4/12/2014 1:34:19 AM
Featured poems Hello. My name is Mark. Several people congratulated me for having my poem, Tropical Getaway, featured last week. I'm new to this website. What does it mean that it was featured somewhere? Is there a link to currently featured poems?
4/12/2014 1:53:48 AM
why wear pants so low If more of these teen knuckleheads knew where that fad came from, fewer of them would do it. Inmates in prison would walk around with their pants lowered as a way to advertize their willingness to be used for anal sex. YUCK!
4/12/2014 2:00:55 AM
Alone I've found that the best way to get out from being alone is to attend your church denomination. I was in the Army for 20 years. Every time I moved stations, I always got more help and attention from my new congregations than I did from from my new Army units' personnel. This is probably generally true and not specific to my denomination (though LDS folks have a reputation for welcoming and helping new members).