Book: Shattered Sighs

Get Your Premium Membership

Poetry Forum

home recent topics recent posts search faq

adrenaline - all messages by user

12/17/2022 2:56:01 AM
Special Would another verse redefining 'special' add to the poem and the journey?
12/17/2022 4:36:26 AM
Special Hi, not to critique yours at all, but I had a play around with some of the words as they echo some of my feelings too. Absolutely keep yours the same, but here's a slightly different version. I'm a complete novice and it's unedited but there might be ideas for extra bits to find with this version or some solace that you aren't alone feeling that way.
Special

Pointlessly shouting to the sky
I want to be SPECIAL
The wind whispered almost unheard back
You already are

No, No, don’t you see
Shouts the reply, fist waving angrily
I want to be SPECIAL
More than just me

Not stopping there
The rant full throttle
Demanding importance and acclaim
I can no longer be unseen

Fame and fortune equating to purpose
And all that goes with it
What do I do, oh what do I do?
To make this happen for me?

The wind soft and gentle still
Waits and bides it's time with loving patience
Waiting for the rant to end
She ever so gently caressed my face

The wind saw me and I heard her
Whispering love full of grace
But you already are
Queen of your existence

The promised contentment eased my soul
Everything gone before serving only to remain as a strong foundation
The fussing and fighting fading
Just a misunderstanding with fate

It’s a mistaken flurry
Born of rush and hurry
That created insecurity
Etched deep within

Early on, reasons untold
Weakness in nurture, planted a seed
Resulting in a reassurance loop need
Ever repeating, ever repeating

But that's based on the insecurity of others
Passed through time
Recognised and seen for what it is
Work in progress to make it undone

Redefine what special means
Recognise the special in me
Know that it's more than beauty or fame
Each of our essence is not the same