Book: Shattered Sighs

Get Your Premium Membership

Poetry Forum

home recent topics recent posts search faq

Forum Home » High Critique » The Silence.

For poets who want unrestricted constructive criticism. This is NOT a vanity workshop. If you do not want your poem seriously critiqued, do not post here. Constructive criticism only. PLEASE Only Post One Poem a Day!!!
3/6/2011 3:54:15 PM

Sarafiel Light
This is probably one of my first real poems. However I am quite new to the whole poetry thing and I know very little about structured poetry. I halfheartedly tried to make the poem fit a specific meter but then I was unable to fit in all I wanted to say. Perhaps I am not skilled enough yet. That is probably the case. Also, if anyone would be kind enough to tell me what sort of form this poem would be categorized as I would be grateful. I would really appreciate any criticism anyone is willing to give. Thank you very much.

And as she gazed down upon the writhing creatures below, the very thought she had so
strongly opposed, for a split second, was her own.

"Would it really be such a bad thing,
to toss a boulder off this wall?
To be the one who stopped the suffering?
To finally put an end to it all?

The pestilence, the poverty,
The larceny, the lying,
The mourning, the misery,
The destitution, the dying.

Would it really be such a bad thing,
To be the one who stopped the crying?
To be the one to end it all?

The pain, the profligacy
The rape, the rotting,
The vindictive, the vulgarity
The sorrow, the suffering

To watch in horror knowing,
I was the one to end it all...

The candor, the complexity,
The laughter, the loving,
The smiles, the sincerity,
The life, the living.

To watch in horror knowing...
I was the one who let it fall...

To be the one to create
The Silence..."
edited by Moonlight Serenity on 3/6/2011
permalink • reply with quote
3/16/2011 9:05:19 PM

julie heckman