Book: Reflection on the Important Things

Get Your Premium Membership

Poetry Forum

home recent topics recent posts search faq

Forum Home » Introductions » Just saying "hello!"

New to PoetrySoup? Introduce yourself here. Tell us something about yourself.
5/7/2010 10:22:19 AM

Patty Lane
Hi,
My name is Patty Lane and I am a "hopeful" poet, or is that a "wannabe" poet? Either or. Still not sure! I don't write much poetry, but then again I am also an artist who hates to paint so right there that doesn't lend much credence to my poet-labeling capability, does it? I consider myself weak in the subject of creating poetry and the use of words because I didn't go to school much, elementary school? Hardly ever. And didn't graduate high school - something, I have always regretted. Which means writing for me has always been a chore because I have to check everything I write over and over again: punctuation, spelling, grammar, so much so that it becomes more of task than a pleasure ... oddly, I still seem to enjoy writing - a lot! I am a bit of of philospher (though more of the street urchin kind) and enjoy reading poetry when I get the chance (if ever), because in my humble opinion all poets are philosphers. I rarely read much as I am always working on some sort of weird project - the weirder, the better. So sitting and reading is usually last on my list of "things to do" which sometimes I actually get around to doing, but only because my body starts screaming "foul" and I am forced to sit down after having worked myself into exhaustion, at which point when I DO sit down and begin to read, I am out cold within 5 minutes of cracking a book. Guess my problem is I have "good" hands, really, really good hands; they amaze me, they can build anything, design anything, paint anything, create anything regardless of medium. I enjoy watching them work their magic ... trust me, I am fully aware that they are a "gift" and I am truly grateful for that. I have to say my passion has alway