Book: Reflection on the Important Things

Get Your Premium Membership

Poetry Forum

home recent topics recent posts search faq

Forum Home » High Critique » no form

For poets who want unrestricted constructive criticism. This is NOT a vanity workshop. If you do not want your poem seriously critiqued, do not post here. Constructive criticism only. PLEASE Only Post One Poem a Day!!!
5/10/2018 12:25:53 PM

bonnie dodd
must what you write follow a form to be considered a poem? Im new to all this and am finding out there are all these rules to follow when writing poetry. all these words, definitions, rules, formats which i've never heard of before and dont have a clue what most of them means. I just sat down one day and started writing about true events in my life trying to make the last word rhyme with the next last word and called it a poem. are these 5 poems I wrote not considered poem? can I enter them in a poetry contest? what form would i call them?
please help
permalink • reply with quote
5/13/2018 6:20:03 AM

keith osborne
The first rule of poetry is.....there are no rules. Sure there are countless forms (within which there are rules), but ultimately it's about expression. I have read your 5 and found 5 poems that obviously comes fromyour heart.Do NOT get caught up in what some of the pompous "know-it-alls" on this site might say about "fixing" your poetry. NO ONE here is a professional. I'm not saying that there aren't some on here htat will give solid advice. Just be wary of who'sadvice you take and how it affects the true meaning of your work. I guess what I am trying to say is...don't compromise the integrity of your work to please someone else. Unfortunately rhyme is not very well respected (I know, it's the majority of what I write), but I would notlet that deter you from writing what you feel - in whateveer form you are most comfortable with. Just write m'lady.
5/16/2018 10:58:42 AM

Constance La France