Book: Reflection on the Important Things

Get Your Premium Membership

Poetry Forum

home recent topics recent posts search faq

Forum Home » High Critique » Problems with poem's final stanza, ending.

For poets who want unrestricted constructive criticism. This is NOT a vanity workshop. If you do not want your poem seriously critiqued, do not post here. Constructive criticism only. PLEASE Only Post One Poem a Day!!!
4/23/2016 6:55:08 PM

Anthony Guccia
I just wrote a poem, I am calling, "The Illusion of "Free-Will". I will take suggestions for a better title, if anyone has a suggestion. The poem came together pretty easily, however, I had trouble, as I often do, with the final stanza, and its conclusion. I added another stanza, removed it, added it, removed it.... changed some lines in the existing final stanza... I am unsure if I am finished, and if the poem comes full circle, with a proper conclusion. Please any and all advice would be appreciated. I am an amateur, so I will take the criticism without offense.

What of "Free-Will," of which the prophets foretold?

A cruel little lie, bore of simple human design,

are our minds even capable, of the power to choose?

Or, are we blind sheep, being herded by the flock,

wrangled all together, just to be finally led astray?

Humankind seems to crave its own subjugation!

Of Religion, For Government, In our feeble little minds.

Freedom simply an illusion, another comforting lie,

Each generation complacent of their forefather's status quo.

Power firmly remains, with the few perched at the top.

The Bourgeoisie become Earth's largest congregation.

Even after centuries, not the slightest shift of balance.

Question their authority, get quickly stricken down.

"Destiny," their creation, to keep us silent and contained,

nothing remains left to the luxury of chance or fate.

Billions now brainwashed, mindless and obedient drones,

enslaved to do their bidding, our Government's mules.